Addys Mercedes


Cae Davis

Pomez di Lorenzo

En Casa de Addys

Cuban female singer/songwriter Addys Mercedes in her new 4tet, combines indiepop with old-style cuban guajiras & ballads. Her unique warm voice & instrumentation with violin (her 11year old daughter), bass, e-guitar & cajon create an intimate athmosphere yet chilly or danceable. 2 singles from her new album were charting No1 in several german radios.


Addys enjoys beeng close to her audience and welcomes her guests as if they sat in her living room: „In Cuba I loved that doors were always open”, tells Addys. “And it’s still like that. Neighbours and friend are passing by, telling there stories, dancing, laughing and staying for dinner”. The idea was born to take this athmosphere on tour.

For the concert opening Addys frequently picks very old cuban pieces and takes the listeners to a far distant world and time. In „Alma Latina“ she shares her melancholic view at Cuba und in „Mi Música“ sings about her fortunate certainty to have found in her music a true companion. Music for Addys isn’t just entertainment but an elementary desire she loves to share.

The multitude of original songs Addys wrote is quite impressive and strongly contrasts to common coverbands. From amazing ballads like „Un Beso“ to livearrangements of her known radiohits like „Hollywood“, Sabado Roto“ and „Gigolo“. Cuba’s overwhelming tradition is not conserved but innovated. A program full of joy in playing and space for spontaneous improvisation.

Part of this environment is Addys‘ 11years old daughter Lia, who plays the violin. When she was a baby she already started listening to her parents concerts. With 10 years she came on stage the first time. As common in Cuba, Lia also plays Claves, Maracas, sings backings and learned to improvise on the violin.


Addys Mercedes
voc., bass, cajon, maracas
Cae Davis
bass, guitar, perc, vocals
Pomez di Lorenzo
el. & ac. git, backing vocals
violin, perc, backing vocals

theatres, clubs, concert halls, small open airs, tent festivals, events
seated or unseated
close, personal, interactive


Media Luna
+49 – 201 – 9462 – 970
agency (at) media-luna.com

EnCasa


Addys Mercedes

Lia


Cae Davis


Pomez di Lorenzo

En Casa de Addys

In ihrem neuen Liveprogramm „En Casa de Addys“ verbindet die kubanische Sängerin & Songwriterin Addys Mercedes kubanischen Indiepop mit traditionellen Guajiras und Balladen. Ihre unverwechselbare warme Stimme und die Instrumentierung mit Geige, E-Gitarre und Cajon erzeugen eine nahe Atmosphäre – mal poetisch, verträumt, mal locker und unbefangen.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GOZJ_t2Rl3E[/youtube]


Addys liebt den Kontakt zum Publikum und heisst es willkommen als befände es sich in ihrem Wohnzimmer: „In Kuba habe ich geliebt, dass die Türen immer offen stehen”, erzählt Addys. “So ist es auch noch heute. Nachbarn und Freunde schauen vorbei, erzählen ihre Geschichten, tanzen, lachen und bleiben dann zum Essen”. So entstand die Idee diese Athmosphäre mit auf Tour zu nehmen.

Zur Konzerteröffnung greift Addys oft uralte Stücke auf und entführt die Zuhörer in eine weit entfernte Welt und entschleunigte Zeit. Blickt in „Alma Latina“ melancholisch auf Kuba und singt in „Mi Música“ von ihrer glücklichen Gewissheit in der Musik eine treue Begleiterin gefunden zu haben. Musik ist für Addys kein Entertainment sondern ein elementares Bedürfnis an dem ihre Gäste teilhaben können.

Beeindruckend ist die Vielzahl eigener Songs, die sich Addys auf den Leib geschrieben hat, was sie wohltuend von anderen Bands abhebt. Von wunderschönen Balladen wie „Un Beso“ bis zu Livearrangements ihrer bekannten Radiohits wie „Hollywood“, Sabado Roto“ und „Gigolo“. Hier wird die übermächtige kubanische Tradition nicht konserviert sondern fortgeschrieben. Mit einer Band voller Spielfreude und Platz für spontane Soli.

Teil dieser Umgebung ist Addys‘ 11jährige Tochter Lia, die Geige spielt. Schon als Baby war sie bei Konzerten im Publikum bis sie dann mit 10 Jahren erstmalig mit auf der Bühne stand. Wie in Kuba üblich, spielt Lia auch Claves, Maracas, singt Chor und lernte auf der Geige zu improvisieren.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oqcetgGjKh8[/youtube]

Wer möchte, geniesst still oder tanzt nach seiner Façon. Willkommen „En Casa de Addys“

Addys Mercedes
voc, bass, perc

Cae Davis
bass, guitar, perc, coro

Pomez di Lorenzo
git, tres, ukulele, coro

Lia:
violin, keys, perc, coro

Locations:
Theater, Clubs, Konzertsäle, Festivals, Events auf Anfrage
voll-, teil- & unbestuhlt

Konzertbooking:

Media Luna
+49 – (0) 2054 -9699-121
agency (at) media-luna.com